Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
367 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I posted this in the main discussion before realizing that it fit this category better.

I am wanting to start showing golden retrievers. My sister has a golden retriever male with good conformation that she says I can show. I have limited show knowledge and had a couple questions I thought people here could help with. 1st off, can I title my sisters dog if I compete as a junior handler? 2nd. Will I be competing against dogs who are championed? 3rd. I know a dog has to have 3 majors to become a champion, but how many dogs have to be in the ring for a major? And finally (for now at least) do you have to come in first to place? Thanks, Kylie. :)

Also my sisters male (Aus) has never been shown, any tips for getting him ready for the show ring? Specifically he has never been taught to stack. THANKS!

·
Kristy
9,597 Posts
Welcome to the forum Kylie! I am afraid I'm not knowledgeable about showing, but I bet someone here will see this and give you some answers. If you don't get enough information, you might try going to the AKC (American Kennel Club) website and looking for information there.

http://www.akc.org/dog_shows_trials/conformation/
http://classic.akc.org/kids_juniors/index.cfm?nav_area=kids_juniors

I just wanted to tell you that I admire you for having the initiative to start working on your dreams. Do you have a driver's license so you could join your local kennel club and maybe find a mentor in your area who could help you? Whatever you do, don't give up, I wish my daughters would take an interest in showing and training dogs, I think it could be a terrific thing to get involved with.... best of luck to you :)

·
Registered
367 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Nolefan! Looked up the links and they were very helpful.

·
OTCH Wannabes!
3,088 Posts