Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone,

I'm so glad to have found this forum, I'm going to be getting my golden, Rocky, on May 28th and I'm so excited and can't wait until he comes home! This is my very first time to have any pets, although I've been wanting a dog for a long time. I look forward to talking to all of you and learning through all your experience how to take good care of my new golden.:D

·
Premium Member
4,618 Posts
Hi Tracy? You're from Edmonton? Wow, so close to Rockies...
I was in Rockie Mountains just last year. For little over 3 weeks, hiking 8-12 hours every day and I loved it. BC is so very different from Ontario. I miss those mountains... :(
Joe

·
Registered
20 Posts
Welcome

To the site, and good luck with your new pup! I got my pup on March 12th, Wilson is 4 mos. old now and doing great. You should be able to view pictures of him in the puppy section. My sister had told me that the first month with a puppy was the most difficult, and she was right. Wilson is our first dog (my husband and I) and we all needed to adjust to the new life. He catches on very quickly, he's adorable, loves people and other dogs. Everyone we encounter says that Golden's are the best and I firmly believe it. We bought a puppy training book at the book store called "how to train a puppy you can live with" which I still reference a lot. We ask the breeder and other dog owners for advice - this website is a great place for feedback. Now we are going to puppy training classes which I highly recommend. Maybe we overdo it but I'm sure this will pay off over and over as time goes by. Take care.

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Hello Meggies Mum, I will definitely be taking lots of pictures! I'm even planning to make a scrapbook for him, am I getting a bit obsessed?:p

Hi timberwolfe, no i'm not from BC, i'm actually from Alberta:D