Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Chesters Mama Erika
1,996 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone =) my name is Erika and i just wanted to introduce myself. Im from new jersey,and next month i will be 20 years old. i attend community college and my major is bio\pre-med. As of now i do not have a golden puppy, because i like to do my research on things before i jump right into it. Ive been hesitating for a while to get a puppy for many reasons but now that I'm stabled in my new apartment i believe i am ready. I am starting now to purchase the basics for my future best friend like bowls,toys,beds,crates,blankets and etc. I just wanted to introduce myself and let people know who i was since now i plan on using this sites information a lot and looking to it for reference.

Im just having a difficulty finding breeders in nj if anyone could help me out it would be highly appreciated.

·
Registered
7,597 Posts
Good for you doing the research ahead of time.
I researched and read for about 2 years, but I never actually got to the point of selecting a breeder. Since I had been talking about it so much, my son and his girlfriend just went one day and bought a puppy from someone advertising in the newspaper (BYB) so all that good information I found wasn't ever used.

·
Beware of Nestle Purina
5,715 Posts
Welcome to the group :)

Breeder referrals for NJ
http://www.gsgrc.org/pdfs/2012_breederreflong.pdf
Puppy Referral

Depending on how close you are to state lines you can also check surrounding states, too
GRCA Puppy Referral

If you find a breeder you like post their name or website and you will get lots of opinions.

You could also rescue- They are great dogs :)
GRCA - PUPPY OR ADULT
National Rescue Committee of the Golden Retriever Club of America