Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For us in the Northern climates, we only need to use heartworm meds seasonally. Further south it should be year round.

We used Sentinel last year and will probably use it again this year. What do you guys use and when do you use it?

·
Registered
30 Posts
I know only two heartworm medications: Sentinel and ProHeart.
Both are known to have some bad side effects.
Ina

·
Registered
36 Posts
I am a vet tech so I take what I can get free! Right now I am using the generic form of Heartgard, Iverhart.

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
There is a whole bunch of them out there that do different combinations of things. Heartworm, hookworm, fleas, ticks. Some have been around for years and are safe, a few are dangerous (Proheart 6 as an example). To list some common ones, Interceptor, Sentinel, Revolution, Heartguard.

So does anyone here besides Goldenboys and myself use Heartworm Meds on our dogs?

·
Registered
256 Posts
We used Revolution - the 6 month pack - in the past and it seems to work fine, we were happy with it. Usually we start in the early summer months and carry through to fall. It is easy to administer and is supposed to get rid of any fleas and their eggs partying on the dog and the carpets right away.

·
Registered
111 Posts
Here we have drops that we put on the skin at the back of the neck. Spot On i think it is called. I read that most of the fleas found on dogs are actually cat fleas.

·
Registered
38 Posts
I use Interceptor on my boys. Shortly after Brandy arrived, he was found to be infested with worms. Once that cleared up, it was suggested that I go to Interceptor and protect them from all worms including heartworm.

Seems to do ok.

·
Registered
19 Posts
We use Heartgard.