Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ben has developed this habit of biting. He bites our legs, our feet, and our arms when we are sitting down... I don't know how to get him to stop. I scorn him.. but it isn't helping at all. I don't know what to do!! How do I get him to stop doing this? I don't want him thinking its ok.

·
Kristy
9,789 Posts
How old is Ben? Can you give more info? I am NOT an expert on training, but I think some more info might help some of the folks who are more knowledgeable....

Is this happening more during a certain part of the day or all the time? Are you taking a class with Ben?

If it's a young dog, I would try keeping toys handy to stick in his mouth the second he starts this business. Redirect to what is an appropriate chew toy.

My final question.... how much and what kind of exercise is he getting on a consistent basis... by this I mean every single day...? How much time do devote to training sessions?

·
Professional Poop Scooper
19 Posts
Try to distract with a toy or bully stick (if you don't use bully sticks, you have to get some! Cheapest when bought online - 1lb for ~ $20 on amazon).

Keep Binaca Breath spray in your pocket. When he starts chewing on you say, "Ouch!" in a high-pitched yelpy voice and then spray a blast of Binaca directly in his mouth. (Goal is to mimic the sound another puppy would make if play was too rough when you say ouch.)

Use Bitter Apple. Like Binaca, it's totally safe (and effective) to give a blast directly in the mouth. Avoid the face eyes for both of these, as the alcohol content is high. Don't allow small children to do this.

Spray Bitter Apple all over yourselves - hands, arms, clothes - whatever he's going after. (It doesn't stain clothes and even when the alcohol evaporates the bitter taste stays behind.)

Give lots of exercise. A tired pup is a calm pup.