Votes: 9 18.4%
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Inactive
4,512 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
and did he forgive you?

--

I just quicked Scout last week and I was so upset. I was worried that I had hurt her and that it would take a long time to approach her with clippers again. Well, to be honest I was far more upset than she (not sure if she even noticed something happened). And a few days later I went back to finish the job with no complaints. I was curious how other dogs fit, as I know the shelties I had growing up had serious problems with getting their nails trimmed if they got accidentally quicked.

·
Rufus' Mom aka Linda
1,357 Posts
Yup...I did it about six weeks ago to Rufus. I've been cutting nails for 35+ years and have never done it..I think I need new glasses! It looked like a crime here..blood all over the white floor and I was way more upset than he was...he didn't even notice. He's still just fine with me cutting his nails.

·
Chester & Murphy's Mom
7,464 Posts
So far never the Goldens but one of our passed dog had black nails and I did cut to short...very messy but I did have quik stop stuff so the bleeding didn't last to long.
I didn't add my vote since it wasn't a golden.

·
Registered
1,537 Posts
I used the dremel on all 3, and I still managed to draw a bit of blood from time to time. My Jake was a warrior--he saw the dremel and would come to get his nails done, nick or no nick. He loved any treats that were offered, and to be honest, I think he enjoyed being the center of attention.

Alli never, ever got used to it, and she gave me looks that could kill--like lasers. We were like a couple of pretzels trying to do nails and a nick was never, ever forgiven--it got added up in her memory.

Mac could care less about her back legs--she dives for the ball, bumper or frisbee so her back nails are nice and worn and generally just need shaping. I've nicked her front nails a few times and she's awful with her front paws--something we are still working on.

·