Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello
My name is Leo and I am searching for information that will help me to give Gaia quality life. Gaia was a healthy old dog until 2 weeks ago when I came back from work and found her lying down over her pee and poop. Since then she is having problems getting up to urinate and defecate. I took her to the vet and she prescribed . I bought senior dog food but she does not want to eat it. Therefore I gave her white chicken on water can food and she eat it. No w I am feeding her with boiled chicken, but I am not sure if that is good for her or not. Because she urinate and defecate while lying down I bath her in the morning before going to work and in the afternoon when I come back home. This is my first time with a big breed old dog and I would like to ask for advise of those who have gone through what I am now. I
Besides the fact that she is having problems getting up, she is a healthy dog for her age. The lab test show that. All her organs are working fine. I just want to give her quality life until she decides to go away. Any advise is welcome. Thanks.

·
Registered
4,129 Posts
Was she having problems with what you were feeding her before? Why the switch in food?

Is it possible that she has some arthritis? Maybe try some treatments for arthritis.

·
Registered
1 Posts
14 year old quit eating

What do I do? Loosing weight fast, given anti-nausea shots, weak, but still enjoys going outside. Urine is concentrated due to drinking little, does eat snow. Vet sees it as end of life. No indication of pain. Sleeping a lot.

·
Registered
3,503 Posts