Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Joe Hill
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so I'm not good at asking for help for several reasons:

- I have worked with dogs for almost 10 years on and off; very successfully. It's always come very naturally to me and I've had a lot of success with dogs and built a lot of bonds quickly with my leadership and lovingness.
- My step-father is as an award-winning German Shepherd trainer in Indianapolis and he is my first line of assistance.
- I'm a man.

All of that said openly, when I do ask for help, I tend to not stop. So I'm really hoping that I can find the help I'm seeking here from some experienced dog owners. My biggest vice right now is that while I've worked with many adult dogs, I have never worked with a puppy before; let alone owned one.

So.. if you're still reading, I'm going to dive in to my 2 biggest problems so far.

1. Crate Training
Here's a journal of all of the time's we've had him in the crate in the first 48 hours and how he did in those times.

- Monday, 8 PM - Had him in for about 20 minutes during dinner (Goal: Start warming him up to the idea of being confined). He whined for about 5 minutes and went to sleep. Stayed asleep for the rest of dinner.

-Monday, 10 PM - Had him in through the night in our bedroom (Goal: Get him to sleep in the crate and get him to let us know when we need to take him out.) This time it went really well. He whined for 5-10 minutes but went to sleep. He never whined through the night to indicate he had to pee, even though he was awake and moving around a little from time to time. He was moving around a little more than normal around 2:30 AM so I got up, took him out to pee. He went and I got him back into his crate. A couple minutes of whining (I got the feeling that wanted to play when we were out, even though I was keeping it strictly business) but he went right back to sleep and so did I.