Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
after looking at local reputable breeders such as Kalm Seas, Penny Lane and Harborview i have realized these are very costly dogs with a long waitlist.

as i continued my search, i have found a few local to me family breeders that are within my budget but don't have the "cache" of the bigger breeders.

places i am looking:

Austin Wanner

Maureen Quinlan

Marian Hiemstra (Maplemoon Kennel)

any thoughts on this approach? this will be my first dog so i obviously want to find the best dog i can.

any others to recommend?

·
Puddles
4,020 Posts
I'm no expert but getting a golden without proper clearances might save you some money on the front end of ownership but certainly is a risky choice in the long run.

Search the forum and read how many people have puppies with elbow or hip dysplasia and how expensive the surgery is to correct as well as all the pain meds required to live with this problem. The breed also has many issues with eyes and heart problems. I understand budget restrictions but this is a really big risk to take to save money on the purchase price.

Maybe someone else on the forum has better advice for you. Maybe get insurance quickly?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm no expert but getting a golden without proper clearances might save you some money on the front end of ownership but certainly is a risky choice in the long run.

Search the forum and read how many people have puppies with elbow or hip dysplasia and how expensive the surgery is to correct as well as all the pain meds required to live with this problem. The breed also has many issues with eyes and heart problems. I understand budget restrictions but this is a really big risk to take to save money on the purchase price.

Maybe someone else on the forum has better advice for you. Maybe get insurance quickly?
why wouldn't they have proper clearances?

·
Registered