Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone, I'm new to the world of puppies since my friend gifted me little Fairouza 4 weeks ago. She's turned 3 months today. She's been very well with toilet training and had only few accidents in the house but otherwise she knows where her potty area is. Since we live on 8th floor and elevator not reliable, I arranged a place in the terrace where she can go to toilet but also have her play area. She goes to toilet exactly in the right spot and I kept reducing the size of the papers until she got down to a very small area, leaving the rest of the terrace for play and sleep and food etc.
recently I discovered that she steps on the wet newspapers on her way and soils the rest of the terrace. I worked hard to avoid this by trying to stop her for a treat and use this moment to wipe her paws quickly. But when I have to leave her alone there for short while, I come back and the terrace is full of marks from stepping on her pee and poop. It seems she really got used to this to the extent that I caught her today sleeping nearly ON THE DIRTY NEWSPAPER that I didn't have an instant to clean up immediately.
What do u suggest I do? She doesn't hold her bladder too strongly still, although much better than before, and I need her to get used to using the terrace when I'm not home since it's safer than being inside the house alone of course.