Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking for a couple quality elevated feeding bowls for my two big Goldens. Seems like so many that I looked at online are cheap flimsy plastic. Does anyone have recommendations? Thanks in advance.

·
Golden Ret Enthusiast
1,844 Posts
I'm looking for a couple quality elevated feeding bowls for my two big Goldens. Seems like so many that I looked at online are cheap flimsy plastic. Does anyone have recommendations? Thanks in advance.
I have been using this (link below) for my dogs for the past 20 years. I use the 5 QT bowl as the kibble will lie flat in the bowl (if feeding a cup or so at a time). This keeps the dog from grabbing mouthfuls at a time and trying to gulp and eat to fast as well. Slowing their feeding helps keep them from gulping to much air. It also has telscoping legs to adjust the bowls to the perfect height.

·
Registered
362 Posts
Head's up... Some studies have linked eating from elevated bowls to an increased risk for bloat. (see this link for one such study)

That said, if you are just looking for something to hold the bowls and get them a bit up off the floor, or if you have a dog who has other compelling reasons to need an elevated dish (such as arthritis that makes eating from the floor uncomfortable), you might want to take a look at Etsy.com for some creative and attractive options.

FWIW, my dogs' bowls go into low "holders" made of metal that looks like cast iron (Similar to this one but with shorter legs and it holds two bowls) and they've lasted us through several dogs and still look great!

·
Golden Ret Enthusiast
1,844 Posts
The main study for that came from Purdue University with an uncontrolled study of dogs at home with nothing on how they fed their dogs, raised or not and nothing about when feedings took place as in did they run and play and then fed, did they wait an hour after feeding before letting them play again.