Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Banned
2,656 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
*I* dont think so but I will let you decide

I have noticed this add several times on kijiji. The owner has a Golden thats not papered. She breeds him to females and thinks its okay because shes a Vet Tech and knows what shes doing. Also the dog hasnt has his hips graded by the OFA or any registry alike, she says her vet is good at reading films and says her dog is dysplasia free and okay to breed. The dog has had his eyes checked by her vet but not certified. This dogs heart or thyroid isnt cleared either. I think thats the issues in the breed they recommend getting certified for but I cant be sure as I am still fairly new to the breed.

She claims he produces wonderful puppies and is a great respresentation of the breed. I am a bit bothered because shes a vet tech. She shoves apying/neutering down every ones throats but feels shes the only one who is capable of keeping an intact dog (this is what she said in an email to me)

Is she breeding to standards or is she considered a back yard breeder? Her dog is a therapy dog but doesnt show or any of that. She claims shes NOT a BYB on her adds.

If anyone wants the link to the add PM me.

·
Registered
3,957 Posts
If she is a Vet Tech she should know better! Sounds very much like a standard back yard breeder!

·
Banned
2,656 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
She thinks because shes a vet tech that shes capable of determining what dog should be bred. But if I brought my Rottie into see her when I had him if he didnt have hip issues she would of told me not to breed him, yet he would of been the same "quality" as her dog per say. She thinks only she being a tech is capable of owning an intact dog and breeding him

·
Registered
43,252 Posts