Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! I was just curious if my dog cali looks purebred or not! She’s 7 months old and 35 pounds which I’ve heard is on the smaller side for her age but not really sure. We love her so much and it’s doesn’t really matter if she is mixed but I was just curious is anyone else thinks she looks like she might be.

thanks!!

Attachments

·
Registered
4,045 Posts
I'm not a pro but my guess is yes. Those with a more expert eye will probably chime in. She's very cute and looks like a sweetheart.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I thought maybe because a friend got hers from same breeder and she did a dna test and she’s a mix she’s also just a lot smaller then our previous goldens

·
Kate
20,872 Posts
I thought maybe because a friend got hers from same breeder and she did a dna test and she’s a mix she’s also just a lot smaller then our previous goldens
That does seem to indicate your dog might not be purebred - though she appears to be.

Have seen or heard of litters where though the breedings were accidental and dad was something else, some of the puppies looked close enough to be adopted out as purebreds. Generally lab mixes, but have heard of at least one golden litter (dad was a sheepdog/herding breed with "up ears").

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thanks!! :) we think she looks purebred too but everyone that sees her is like oh she’s a mix but I think she’s as golden as it gets lol so I was curious what other golden owners thought!

·
Registered
701 Posts
She looks like a golden in the pics you posted. 35lb at 7 months is def on the small side but possible. Did your friend tell you what the DNA test results came back as?