Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, guys! This may get a little long, so please bear with me :)

I'm currently a college student and at this point, I am sure I am not ready for a dog. So, keep in mind this is a hypothetical several years into the future.

I have always wanted a dog. And I mean ALWAYS. My dad is not a dog person, to put it kindly, so unfortunately no dog for little me. Now, I'm thinking in the future I'd really like to have one. I actually briefly fostered (with a chance to adopt if it worked out very well) a young Borzoi. I adored the dog, but I couldn't handle all the work on top of school, and I don't know that a sighthound, as much as I love them, is the right dog for me because I'd like to (and now do) have cats as well. So he went home after a little more than a month. Now I'm pretty certain that I don't want a dog until I'm done school, and perhaps not until I am in a place with a yard.

A little background about me: I'm a psych student with a huge interest in dog behavior and training. I'm also an artist, and hoping to work from home in the future. I'm very very introverted and suffer from severe social anxiety and (medicated) depression. My animals are pretty much my life. I'm telling you this because while I am not in need of a service dog, I know that Goldens are a top pick and may be more tolerant than other breeds of taking a restful day now and again. I know for a fact my exercise habits are not up to par right now, but since it will be quite a while before I'm really looking to get one, I can change it. I also need a realistic idea of how much exercise will be required, and what kind.