Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I do not wait to name blast the breeder, but I assure you they are a very reputable breeder with a 2 year wait list. I spoke with the breeder and I feel their breeding program fits what I want in a dog. I am very new to this whole "reputable breeder" thing. I have not had many breeders reply, which is OK, I understand with all things considering. But the prices seem to be the highest i've seen so far (seen another for like $3,250). And I get wanting to have serious inquiries only on their waitlist. But it seems odd to have a $100 deposit just to be put on a waitlist? And it'd be BEFORE I fill out a puppy questioner (I guess you can say i'm buying an application for $100) I guess I just want to know if this is normal..? Do breeders tend to do this?

·
Kate
21,221 Posts
Maybe wouldn't put a deposit down to wait 2 years to get a puppy.....

There's surely other breeders with pups available.

Price sadly isn't too shocking.

If you give a location/state - people could probably give you an idea what prices they are seeing.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Maybe wouldn't put a deposit down to wait 2 years to get a puppy.....

There's surely other breeders with pups available.

Price sadly isn't too shocking.

If you give a location/state - people could probably give you an idea what prices they are seeing.
It's actually not the waiting I have a problem with. I am not wanting one for 2 years (the pandemic kind of screwed things up, and next year isn't a good time anymore). I am in Ohio. I have contacted my club of reputable breeders, and this breeder was on the list I was given.

·
Kate
21,221 Posts
Price goes up every year. After a year like everyone has had this year, prices should go DOWN, but um... that's not what normally happens.