Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
225 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been feeding Brutus Wellness Core for several months now and still I have to clean his gunky, smelly ears about twice a week though he's never had an ear infection. AND his poops aren't consistent. Any Core feeders have this problem??
It's been the first food he actually eats without hesitation or coaxing. We tried CN and TOTW before Core and he didn't like them.

I don't want to go more expensive if I don't have to but I prefer grain-free only because i've had such good experience with it in the past.

I know a lot of people on here feed ProPlan, not grain-free but still a good food reasonably priced. Any suggestions? :confused:
I was really hoping Core would work out since Max is thriving on it, it's easier to just buy one big bag, and it's available at Petco (closer than the feed store).

·
Registered
43,252 Posts
Have you tried Natural Balance? It is about the same price and you can get it at Petco. My Pawley gets dirty ears but no infections, just have to clean them more often. Also when I trim his ear hair it helps.

Mine all eat ProPlan and love it.

·
Registered
13,492 Posts
Yes, Brady has one ear that tends to get "gunky". We have been on Wellness Core for over a year. It has stopped the ear infections and the hot spots - none since starting the Wellness.

We do get inconsistent stools at times, but I attribute that to when my husband sneaks him part of his supper, or buying "junk" dog treats.:doh:

·
Registered
4,215 Posts
We didn't have any luck with the Core Original formula. Same problems you're seeing plus Riley was all itchy/scratchy and Gunner had gas that could clear a room.