Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Elsie's Mama
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone!

I'm pretty new to the breeding business. My pedigree Golden Retriever puppy will be a year old March 17th. I want to be prepared to breed her this fall. Any information anyone can give will be most appreciated. My top questions are:

1. I need doggie underwear for her. Does anyone prefer a specific brand or type? Money isn't too much of an issue right now. Once I find a preferred brand I can look for deals. But she goes into her cycle in less than a month and I've procrastinated on buy undies toooo long!

2. When is the best time to breed? 2cd cycle? 3rd cycle? What time during her cyle? I've done some research and have general idea, but I'm hoping I can get some expert advice from here ;)

Thanks and hope everyone has a blessed day! :wave:

·
Registered
21,195 Posts
You are starting out right by looking for information, but you truly do have a lot to learn.
You can't breed her before she is at least 2 years old, because you can't do the necessary health tests until she's 2. You will need to have her hips and elbows xrayed and sent to OFA for evaluation. You will need to have her thyroid tested (sent to MSU typically), and her eyes evaluated by a veterinary opthamologist. Also you need to have her tested for prcd-PRA, which is a DNA test done by Optigen labs. Probably should test for PRA-1 and ichtyiosis at that time as well. Finally, you will need to have her heart checked by a certified veterinary cardiologist.
Once she has passed all those clearance, you should at the very least have her pass a CCA, (certification of conformation assessment) which is sponsored by the Golden Retriever Club of America. It's an evaluation whereby 3 independent "judges" will evaluate her and certify that she is to the golden retriever standard. If she is not, she should not be bred.