Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
DAC
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I found a breeder that I really like. It's Adirondac Golden Retrievers. I'm thinking about getting a puppy from their upcoming litter. I was online checking the clearances and I noticed that degenerative joint disease is in the family. Everything else checked out. Should I be concerned with this being in the family, or is this pretty much the norm?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
8,164 Posts
Adirondac is a good breeder, I would be interested to know more about what information you are looking at.

·
Kate
21,676 Posts
I think it depends on WHERE you saw this in the pedigree.

If the parents, grandparents, great-grandparents, etc had something wrong with their joints and were bred... that would be a problem.

·
DAC
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I've also heard they're a very good breeder. Maybe I'm looking at it wrong. This is my first time using a breeder. If you go to their website www.adirondac-goldens.com and look at clearances on Trixie x Pete and Misty x Pete. You can view the clearances at www. offa.org. Please let me know what you think.

·
Registered
2,286 Posts
We definitely need more information. Even the best breeders have some sort of DJD show up occasionally. My youngest is from a good breeder with clear parents and still has elbow dysplasia. It happens. But of course no dog that has DJD themselves should be bred.

Reactions: Sally's Mom

·
Registered
8,164 Posts
can you tell us exactly what it is you are seeing? These lines go back to Push, so you will see a lot of dogs that are carriers for PRA, but that has nothing to do with joint disease.

·
Premium Member
16,435 Posts