Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time getting from a breeder. We made a deposit and there are several upcoming litters. 4 dams currently expecting in the next couple weeks. I was told there was a relatively long waitlist but no specifics. Is it appropriate to ask my place in the waitlist? I don’t want to be annoying or seem impatient. We are just excited and anxious to have an idea of timing. I know waitlists are very subject to change, but I figured having an idea of where I stand on the waitlist would be helpful. Is it typical to not be informed of your place in line? Thanks so much!

·
Registered
322 Posts
I have to raise my eyebrows at your breeder having four litters in the next couple of weeks!?? Sounds like a factory to me... I'm sure others with more experience can add their opinion.

Notwithstanding, coming from a recent puppy purchaser in the last year, our breeder did not maintain a formal waitlist where you have a number and you just wait for it to be called. Kinda inconvenient? Yes. Puts you on pins and needles? Heck yes! Oftentimes, breeders will wait for the litter to hit the ground first and then evaluate the puppy and his/her personality as the puppy forms one, and pick the home best suited for that puppy... not the other way around.

But to answer your question, for me, it was typical to not be informed of your place in line. Good luck!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have to raise my eyebrows at your breeder having four litters in the next couple of weeks!?? Sounds like a factory to me... I'm sure others with more experience can add their opinion.