Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I applied and was accepted and put on a waitlist for a golden, which will be born any day now. Last year when I was put on the waitlist the price was 1200$. Today they messaged me to make sure I was still interested as they'll be born any day now, and informed me the new price is now 1800$. Is this a common thing to change the price in this instance? I haven't paid a deposit or anything but I still feel it's a little bit scummy to not honor the original price

·
Registered
1,337 Posts
Hmm.....I don't know. Doesn't sound quite right to me but I'm no expert. Is it a reputable breeder? Do you have the registered names of the parents so you can look at clearances?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No they aren't registered dogs or breeders. I don't even mind paying the price, it's just the fact that they were posted for 1200 when I applied. I just don't know whether to say anything or not as I want the puppy without paying 3000$ for a registered one. Just curious if it was a common thing or not

·
Registered
4,895 Posts
I can't speak to whether this breeder is reputable or not, but a breeder is allowed to change their prices. It sounds like you were on a waitlist for some time and now are getting a puppy. Puppies are now $1800. In a vacuum there is nothing wrong with that. They can choose to sell you a puppy or not and you can choose to buy a puppy or not. Personally, I have never made money on my dogs and I charge more than $1800 for my puppies if that tells you anything ;)

·
Registered
66 Posts