Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

Bleeding quick

1K views 15 replies 10 participants last post by  Goldens&Friesians 
#1 ·
I was trimming rangers claws and i guess i went to far on one and there was a little blood. Not much he wasn’t trailing it or anything buti noticed the tip of the fur on his feet has a little blood. I feel absolutely awful. He did not yelp or cry or anything. I don’t have styptic powder so just cleaned it with warm water with a little dish soap and there’s no blood anymore. He has been playing with chew toys in his ex pen so he has not licked it. Seems to be walking ok. No more blood. Called the vet they didn’t answer. Does this need veterinary intervention? Doesn’t seem that way to me but I read about possible infection and I’m new to dogs. Will he never let me come near his claws ever again?? I hope I didn’t traumatize him. :(

#6 ·
Will he never let me come near his claws ever again?? I hope I didn’t traumatize him. :(
More likely that you traumatized yourself! (Speaking from experience…🙈) I quicked my current golden really bad when she was a puppy and was so upset I couldn’t bring myself to cut her nails again for a looong time. Big mistake. Because of my hesitancy, I now have a nightmare of a time trying to cut her nails by stealth or from the floor while she’s distracted with a lickimat. When it’s nail time again, go in with confidence and styptic powder and you’ll both be fine 😊

#7 ·
I hate when that happens. Logan doesn’t even seem to notice it. I’ve only done it a few times. I try to take a little bit at a time so I don’t really get a bleeder. You may want to get some styptic powder. If it stopped bleeding, I would not be concerned.

#10 ·