Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Our 11 week old puppy Daisy is a very good puppy. She mouths and nips like any puppy normally would. She is fairly gentle with me, my husband and my baby...BUT when it comes to my 5 year old daughter it's another story. My daughter will just walk by and Daisy thinks it's ultimate play time!! She jumps and nips her and her sharp little puppy teeth hold nothing back! Help! How do we curb her aggression w my daughter?

·
Human to Maximus
219 Posts
Maximus did the same thing with my 5 year old niece. I'm not an expert, and I'm sure more experienced people will help, but we just constantly redirected him. I also had my niece cross her arms across her chest, tell him to sit, and not touch him until he did. Of course we were always there monitoring and showing him what was appropriate. He caught on fast that he needed to settle down with her.

Is it because they are younger and shorter that they get so excited? I wondered if Maximus viewed her as more of a playmate since she was closer to his size than her older (8 years) sister.

·
Registered
1,190 Posts
Your little golden looks at your 5 year old like a litter mate. Involving your 5 year old in training will go a long way to correct this behaviour. Start with teaching your 5 yr old how to command sit, down, stay, come. Let her command the puppy independently if you, under your supervision of course. Good luck, this worked for me, so let us know how you go!

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks. I kind of figured it was the playmate mentality. My daughter has just started training with Daisy so hopefully she can keep it up and I will keep adding in more obedience training as well. I will have her try the crossing her arms and not touching technique. My poor kid, she is getting so torn up...it's just so hard for her to understand that Daisy just wants to play with her not hurt her.