Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am new to goldens, and never showen a dog befor or even know the reasons for doing it.

what benifit does conformation give you, or is it just bragging rights if you are not going to bread your dog?

Also can they be nutered or do they have to be unaltered?

they reason I ask is about 5 people have asked me if I was going to show as they figure my little boy would do very well.

thanks
Steve

·
Registered
1,537 Posts
I have someone show my young golden for me; I have shown my older goldens (now at the Bridge) in Veterans. The value in showing in conformation is that you have a judge review your golden's structure, gait, bite and to some degree, temperament, and judge it according to the Golden Retriever standard. Depending on the day, the judge and your dog, if your dog is considered the best representative of the breed, your Golden could win Best of Breed, Winners Dog (as best representative among all dogs entered) or Best of Winners (as best representative among both dogs and bitches entered) or win first in his class.

IMHO, I would look at who is giving you advice as to your golden's potential success in the show ring. Are these your neighbors? People at the dog park? Not that these people are not knowledgeable, but well, I would not trust them to give me the best advice regarding the breed standard and how my golden measures up. With our first golden, sold to us as a "pet," we received lots of comments about showing him--but it was always from people in the streets, or breeders who didn't show their dogs, or vets who didn't deal with show breeders. When we joined the local golden breed club, several members who showed regularly put their hands on him and, although complimented us on how handsome he was, felt he had slim prospects in the show ring. And when the breeder saw him again at aged 2, she agreed with her original assessment.