Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I posted a question in the "what did you do???" board instead of this one... but I suppose it should have gone here....Sorry I put it in the wrong place! I am still learning to navigate this site! SO much info!! =) It is pasted below. Sorry about that!

Aloha all!

Background: Maximus has always been a very sit in my lap kinda dog and I totally don't mind (even though he is 115pounds) But he is losing some of his manners and I realize it must be something I am doing (or not doing), but I am at a loss on how to retrain him. I recently got a new puppy who must have been heaven sent. It took him a day to potty train, he sits, walks nice on a leash, goes in his kennel when told and is now learning to fetch. I have included Max in all of our activities (walks, playtime, pets, mealtimes etc) but sometimes I just need a moment to mop, or I have a guest who is much smaller than my Max (like a child) and is scared so I will put Max (and Leonidas as well) outside.

Here is the problem. Maximus WILL NOT be quiet. He will whine and bark and paw at the door for however long he is outside without me. If I am ouside he could care less, but If I dont stay out with him, he freaks. He won't even go potty unless I tell him to and even then I have to stand there to watch. It's kind of silly! I have within the past few days been making him sit and given him the command wait, which he knows well,then treat him when he is quiet and I tell him "good quiet" and that works for about 5 seconds, then he is whining away. I feel so bad for him and I do not know how to approach the situation properly. I don't want to undo all the training I have already done, and Max is a fabulous dog!

You all have been so wonderful thus far, I am just hoping for some great advice!! Thanks in advance!!

Aimee

·
Now Caue's Dad Too!
37,489 Posts