Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
New Momma of Maggie Jo!
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
We've had Annie for just over 5 1/2 years and two Sundays she became very ill. Off to the vet by Thursday and then found out yesterday that she indeed has hemangiosarcoma of the liver and possibly other organs.

Poor girl! Annie has always been active her whole life and to see her lying around all day is heartbreaking. I am just sick. I lost my other golden, Riley, to lung cancer at 7, so I was expecting to at least to have a longer life with Annie. Cancer is so unfair. I don't live near any animal hospitals or near a oncologist, so I am going to just love the heck out of her and help ease her suffering. I am still in shock and trying so hard not to cry my eyes out around her so she doesn't worry about me.

I think the hard part is not knowing when she will go. I am a teacher and having had the grace of a vacation with her has been a true blessing, but if she hangs on through the holidays I am not sure how I will be able to leave her. I'm fortunate to have my elderly parents living right next door who have watched her for me every day, but "I" want to be the one with her.

I've been reading posts from other owners who have suffered through this horrible diagnosis and that has been helpful. I know how painful it was to lose my darling Riley Rae and now losing Annie Lee is going to be just as bad. I dread the grief as it I so painful.

She has an appetite and because she is so anemic, I have been grinding up cooked beef and mixing it with brown rice and green beans. She loves it, but she has the runs and I know it is from the change in her diet. I feel like I'm making her suffer more! Ugh!