Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
21,245 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm curious, does your dog's veterinarian perform routine anal/rectal exams on your senior dogs during their senior exams?

I'm just learning about anal tumors and they tend to affect older dogs. If not caught early and treated they can be aggressive. We've had our Barkley's anal sacs expressed every 2 weeks at our vets and he gets them expressed by his vet at his annual exam. A hard growth was discovered this month with a diagnosis of a suspected anal adenocarcinoma. It's not large at this point. Due to the hemangiosarcoma diagnosis we are focusing on the hemangiosacoma first.

Our 6 year old Toby expresses his own anal sacs :yuck: and has never had an examination in that area. I'm thinking of asking his vet to start performing them at his annual exam.

Do other vets routinely do these types of exams on your seniors?

·
Registered
7,496 Posts
Our vet doesn't, but I think it is a good idea. Thanks for bringing it up!

I'm sorry to hear about Toby's diagnosis. I'll be keeping him in my thoughts.

I do the dog's AG expression when it needs done... ick! But luckily they don't need it often.

·
Nancy
7,493 Posts
My Maggie lived to be almost 14 y.o. and the vet had never done a rectal exam. She didn't have anal sac problems though. Possibly dogs with anal sac problems are more prone to anal adenocarcinoma.

·
Registered
1,392 Posts
My vet used to do it for a prostate exam before my dog was neutered but now that he was neutered she said she's not concerned about it anymore.

Sounds like a good idea although I'm 100% sure our golden friends would disagree.

·
Registered
48 Posts