Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Kate
20,434 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I assume the ones for 2018 will get released in a few months. But the attached link got shared on FB. I'm sort of a numbers person (I stare at numbers for a living) so I was very INTERESTED in seeing all the numbers for 2017.

Among else - this shows how healthy and successful the breed is - when you compare directly to others. While I KNOW a good chunk of this is because unlike some of the others - there are splits all over the place.

Those splits mean that you may have CH dogs who primarily are just CH/CGC/RN titled. And you have a LOT of dogs playing in both obedience and field.

Depending on pedigrees - you have more specialization from one breeder to the next. This means you are very unlikely to have DC in a breed like goldens. But they are VERY HEALTHY when you consider the participation rate across the board. It's not just them being a popular breed, because you can compare to labs.

With labs you have a TON who would never go near the show ring (and considering what's in the show ring, that's not a bad thing!) and all the eggs are in the field basket for them. In a big way. o_O

With agility - I was surprised by the numbers because I expected them to be MUCH HIGHER for goldens due to the popularity and general push towards agility by most people. Maybe they get spread all over the place (so many titles I don't understand in that sport!)? Or there's a high drop off????

I kinda just wanted to get a look at where participation was with the different breeds. And this is why I included CGC too. IF you think of each of the sports as a different cup which people are spilling into with their dogs and getting titles. And to see where which breeds had a more severe drop.

Goldens
311 CH's
350 CD's
29 OTCH's
429 RN's
155 NA (I think novice level Agility - agility titles are Greek to me)
60 MACH
1607 CGC
238 JH
93 MH
2 FC

Labs
203 CH's
164 CD's
4 OTCH's
272 RN's
68 NA