Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,435 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Kahuna has been doing an AMAZING job with potty training! Especially since I've only had him 10 days and he's only 11 weeks old... I was doing dishes so I may have missed a sign by him, but this is what just happened: he relieved himself ON his dog bed! I have NEVER heard of a dog doing that when he spends so much time in there and there is lots of other room around the bed (not that I want him to, but in his bed???). Could something be wrong with him??? I'm not a novice owner but I'm flabbergasted as to why he would do that... He didn't look like he wanted to, judging by his face... I'm worried if this is a precursor to something... He had a vet check a few days ago and came back perfect minus a tiny heart murmur so I'm just kinda confused... Could he just not hold it long enough to get off his bed? The part I'm most confused about is WHY HIS BED lol... Please help! Thanks!

·
Registered
13,492 Posts
Kahuna is most likely fine. I have had a couple puppies had pee on their bed at least once. I read once that it is the feeling on their paws might feel the same as the bedding they had when they were being raised with their litter and their mother. These were beds that weren't in their crates, so they actually had to go out of their way to do it.

It will be interesting to hear what other people say.

·
Registered
1,435 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Interesting... Thanks for your reply! He's acting normal and actually just asked to go outside and had no problems "going" out there... I just found it so strange he did that on his bed when I have always believed that's against a dog's nature once removed from the litter..... Thanks again!

·
Kate
21,677 Posts
He probably just had to go and went potty wherever he happened to be. :)

My Jacks was thankfully EASY to housetrain, but the boys who came before him had very interesting accidents.