Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been researching Goldens for a few months and I’m confused. I found one website discussing breeders that featured only short haired white English Goldens. To me, they look like Labs. I went to a dog show a year ago and saw mostly what I think of as Goldens. There was some uniformity of structure and color. I always thought Goldens need moderate exercise, are friendly and are less intense then say, American hunting Labs. Then I read Goldens are bred to hunt, have extremely high exercise needs and high drive. I have a high drive German Shepherd and I don’t understand how Goldens can have that kind of drive. My younger dog, who is from working line stock, can be very intense, but also mellow when he is in “off” mode and doesn’t need a lot of exercise. I hope someone can explain the differences in Golden lines. Are field bred dogs very different from show bred dogs? Do they come from similar foundation stock or are they different lines like German Shepherds that are either working or show lines? Are there also pet lines within the breed? A handler and dog walker I know said she has run into a lot of aggressive Goldens, and stopped handling them due to that. Again that surprised me, as the Goldens I’ve known have all been happy, friendly and carefree type dogs, much less intense than my current and previous herding breed dogs.

·
Registered
6,911 Posts
There are some line differences- probably the easiest differential would be the titles you see in the close up pedigree. I doubt a handler stopped handling due to temperament, there are always outliers but Goldens generally are good dogs...and prob they quit handling due to the excessive grooming more than anything.

·
Puddles
3,505 Posts