Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Jamie
453 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anybody getting a golden puppy to pursue field work with this year? I will be making the jump to three dogs in June with the addition of a little field golden puppy that I am beyond excited about. It's my first time getting a pup where I'll have to fly out and pick him up but I think he will be more than worth it!

I currently train in field work (HRC hunt tests) with my conformation line golden Fisher, but he is really heat intolerant so I have to really be careful with him from July-August. I decided I really didn't want to halt my training for two months and that I'm ready to get a dog bred for the job. I still intend to train Fisher as far as I can take him but I can only do early season tests (May-June) and we work at a slow pace as I struggle to keep him engaged in training. He has really good obedience, he just struggles with the drive to finish the job at times. He's like a different dog in the winter when its cool, so I just have to suck it up and train all winter long lol!

I'm really excited to start a dog right away and using the skills I've learned already. The breeder will have the puppies on birds before they leave so I'll be sure to have a nice birdy pup. I've got big goals for this little guy so we are going to hit the ground running.

So, anyone else? There are some fantastic field golden litters out there right now!

·
Super Moderator
3,677 Posts
Good luck with your pup! And do not stop with Fisher.

For the record, my field Goldens suffer in the heat.

·
Jay S.
70 Posts
Great news. I would agree that there are some very nice field golden litters out there and more coming all the time. I think we are seeing a bit of a movement. Here in North Texas I know of three pros that are training there own goldens right now. Another pro is in the queue for a golden.

·
Jamie
453 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Good luck with your pup! And do not stop with Fisher.