Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm finding myself in need of advice. My husband and I planned a year in advanced for getting a puppy. We decided to get a puppy near the beginning of the summer so that I could stay home and be with our pup until I have to go back to work (I'm a school teacher.) We got her at 7 weeks (I know that was still young) and I will begin work in two weeks when she is 13.5 weeks. I've been extending the time I have been away from Ellie (my pup) so that she can get used to being alone but now I'm getting a bit more worried. She has been doing pretty well but I leave home for work at 6:15 and come back hopefully around 3:30 or earlier. My husband and I are planning on getting a dog walker to come out in the middle of the day to relieve her and play with her. I'm thinking we may have to leave out wee wee pads because she is a bit young.

I know many people may be tempted to say you shouldn't have gotten a puppy, she's too young to leave but I'm already in this situation. We don't have anyone who can really come out and check on her so that's why we're planning on getting a dog walker but I'm just asking for advice from anyone with experience similar to this. How have y'all done it? Any hope?

Thanks!!

·
Registered
1,181 Posts
Hello. You sign off with "Any hope?". I am asking myself what you are hoping for?! It's hard on a 3 month pup to be alone for more than 9 hours every day. Will she be in a crate all that time? Will she be walked before you leave for work at 5am? How long will the dog walker be with her? How are you potty training her so far? She is going to get confused if you suddenly introduce pads. Sorry to be harsh. I hope that some gentler members here on this forum chip in with some useful suggestions for you. I feel bad for your Pup.

·
Mercy Miracle (M&M)
5,097 Posts