Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone - I’ve been using this forum as a resource for awhile but this is my first time posting. My golden is now 12 months and about to get neutered. We tried to do everything right - I’ve wanted a dog for more than 10 years, and before getting him we moved into an apartment with a yard, went to the most responsible breeder we could find, and had him in weekly training classes from 8 weeks - 5 months. Ever since we got him, almost every day I’ve been anxious and stressed. Most of it comes from feeling like he’s not settling down at home, not listening on his walks, pulling on the leash, getting over excited, etc. We play fetch and do training games everyday, walk him 3 times a day for a total of 2.5 miles, bring him to daycare twice a week, never leave him alone for extended periods of time, and socialize him as much as possible - for the first few months, every day we brought him to a new place with unfamiliar noises and stimulation (home depot, parks, etc). He’s very friendly, doesn’t have separation anxiety and doesn’t bark. It makes me so sad and guilty to admit, but I do regret getting him. I went on vacation for a week and it felt like such a relief and I didn’t miss him at all. Sometimes I think back on my life before getting him and wish I could just go back. We’re working with a different trainer right now so hopeful that it helps, but I guess I just wanted to know if anyone else has gone through a similar experience. I just really thought I would enjoy having a dog more than I do.

·
Kristy
10,807 Posts