Golden Retrievers : Golden Retriever Dog Forums - View Single Post - Protective Male Golden
View Single Post
post #13 of (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 09:39 AM
DblTrblGolden2

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
I don't know what this is, but it's definitely not that he's guarding you. Does he have something with him at the times that he is behaving this way? Is he on HIS bed? Is there anything that he may be trying to keep you both away from, or is he afraid your going to do something he doesn't like? I don't mean a punishment, but maybe confine him to an area or something? It's very unusual behavior for a typical Golden.

I would start with a trip to the vet for a thorough check up, including a full blood panel. I would also see how he reacts at the vet. I'm just really wondering if it's medical. The way you describe it sounds like he could be maybe having a seizure. I'm no expert but I would definitely start at the vet.

If it is typical resource guarding everything in the posts above should help, but I'm just not sure that's it.