Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

Wellness issue

2K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  Dallas Gold 
#1 ·
I have been using Wellness White Fish and sweet potatoe for many years with no issues until this week. I had been giving my dog their regular meal from a bag of Wellness when I noticed some of the kibble appeared to have bits of white plastic or some other foreign substance in the pieces of kibble. I saved some of the kibble and went back to Petsmart with my receipt and showed them the problem. They gladly refunded my money but unfortunately we can't inform Wellness of the exact product because I had already tossed out the bag since I transfer my kibble to an airtight container. I learned my lesson on that one and will always keep my bag. I'll write to Wellness anyway to let them know but now I am concerned about the product. I do realize anything can happen during production bu,t sheesh, there was white bits of something scattered throughout the kibble. I had already fed some to my dogs without noticing and fortunately they are fine.

#3 ·
I seem to recall from reading the Wellness site at some point when Toby was on it that there can be small fish bone chips in the fish formulas, but I think it's a good idea to call them anyway and ask about it. Every time I called them the CSR ended up sending me a discount coupon for my next bag of food.

#5 ·
Thanks, At first I thought it was bone pieces but both the manager at the store and I decided the bits seemed more like something else. Still, it is possible it was bone. I never noticed the kibble appearing like this before but maybe I didn't pay attention. PetSmart didn't even blink and gave me a refund. I did write Wellness though. I hate to have to change since my dogs have been doing GREAT with this food. Completely cleared up Beau's allergies when I had him and neither of the other dogs have ever had an issue.
I'll try again with a new bag from a different store and see if it appears the same.