Golden Retriever Dog Forums banner

I don't know what to do with him anymore..

3K views 16 replies 10 participants last post by  OutWest 
#1 ·
Hello!
I'm a 2nd year student and live with two of my friends in a flat and with mine 1 year old Golden - Sammy.
The problem is that two months since we've been here he's acting just awfully.. When we start eating and get him out of the room in the coridor,first he was moaning ,now he is barking until someone lets him inside.. I even tried taking him outside the front door with his collar on,but that didn't seem to work either. He's dominant and when someone tries to yell at him he starts barking again and makes faces likes he's about to bite,but thank god he doesn't do that at least.. The thing is that even though the people that live are my friends,they are annoyed by that and even I am,because he doesn't listen at all , but I just can't give him away because I love him too much and when he's calm it's the awesomest dog ever.
I'm asking you for an advice in how to teach him to know his place and expecially when he grabs a sock or something to learn to drop it and give it to me , not start barking at me again..

#2 ·
You have to start with training basics. Teach "out" and use some high value treats. Trade for low value items first. Trade for toys. Teach out, give a great treat and give back the toy. Work up the chain to bigger value items. Teach a reliable sit and down. Watch some video on YouTube on Kikopup. Lots of great training ideas. I doubt he's a dominant dog, just a confused one.

Sent from my iPhone using Petguide.com Free App

#4 ·
I am a student, I don't have that enough money and I take care of him with my own money,because my family doesn't want to help me with the money for him. So that means I can't take him to any classes..
He knows the basic stuff , but doesn't listen at all and it's getting too much .. If it continues that way I must sent him to my village..

#5 ·
I have a couple of suggestions.